First post of 2012: Rich Porcini Mushroom Risotto

Two years ago I started a food blog that featured recipes for healthy soul food. An oxymoron, right? A lot of my friends loved the blog and still ask about it till this day so I’ve decided to bring the food posts back! I’m thinking I’ll do a new recipe every two weeks (Hey, I’m a working girl). I’ll try to describe my experience in following these recipes since I didn’t come up with them myself. Comments are welcomed!

So I got this recipe from Food Network host, Claire Robinson’s book called 5 Ingredient Fix. Risotto takes more time than I thought. You have to constantly stir it and wait for the liquid to absorb in intervals. Also, i hope you really like mushrooms….REALLY like mushrooms because the porcini flavor is strong. I paired mine with parmesan crusted tilapia. Overall, it was good but I don’t think I’ll make it again. The flavor was a bit much for me.
Rich Porcini Mushroom Risotto

1 ounce dried porcini mushrooms

5 cups boiling water

4 tablespoons unsalted butter

1 1/2 cups Arborio rice

1 cup dry white wine

1/2 cup grated Pecorino Romano cheese

Kosher salt and pepper, to taste

Put the mushrooms in a bowl and pour the boiling water over them. Let stand 15 minutes until mushrooms are very soft; with a slotted spoon, remove them from the liquid, coarsely chop, and reserve. Carefully pour the mushroom liquid into a saucepan, making sure to leave any sediment in the bowl. Heat the mushroom liquid over medium heat until hot but not boiling.

In a large saucepan or deep skillet, melt the butter over medium heat. Continue cooking, stirring occasionally, until the milk solids begin to brown lightly; add the rice and stir until the butter has turned golden brown. Add the chopped mushrooms and wine and bring to a simmer; cook until the wine is nearly evaporated.

While stirring constantly (this is important), add the hot mushroom broth, a half cup at a time, allowing the rice to absorb the liquid completely before adding more. Once all of the broth has been added, stir in 1/2 cup cheese. Taste and adjust seasoning; Serve!

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “First post of 2012: Rich Porcini Mushroom Risotto

  1. If most people wrote about this subject with the eloquence that you just did, I’m sure people could do much more than just read, they act. Great stuff here. Please keep it up.

Leave a Reply

